Getting started in tech ( My journey)

Getting started in tech ( My journey)

It was a wild chase, I couldn't feel my legs but I kept running. I finally saw our secret underground tunnel, entered and shut the door behind those computer monsters. I met my secret agent friends and told them how XANA wants to take over the earth. We made a plan to shut him down for good...

Sorry if I lost you back there, but that was basically the kind of dreams I had while growing up😂. Yeah, trying to save the world! Code Lyoke was one of my favourite cartoon series back then so I kept having dreams about it.

Around age 8-10, I developed interest in recycling and saving the environment from plastic pollution after watching another cartoon series.

Okay... back to reality.

So what actually got me into tech?

Well, initially, I didn't have passion for anything relating to tech. I wanted to be a plastic recycler and an environmentalist. I started the business and got frustrated because funds were not available to push through since I didn't have another source of income (full details on another article). I got broke and couldn't continue (in Nigeria we call it Sapa😂).

After surviving the sapa phase a bit, I started selling t-shirts in school to help pay my bills as an undergraduate. I realised that I needed a good digital skill but couldn't afford the cost of training.

I resolved to get a tech skill but didn't know the area to focus on. Everything seemed overwhelming. I actually wanted something that'll give me money quickly because I wasn't getting allowances from my parents and things were difficult as a student.

I finally decided on UI/UX design in 2021. Someone sent me free courses, I uninterestedly watched some videos and guess what? I didn't have a laptop to try out anything. I was also managing a broken phone at the time so, I quit learning and tried other part-time jobs in school.

Last year, an opening for a free 6 month tech training came out. I was really happy about it. I tried applying, but having a laptop was a criteria and without that I won't get in. Well, I later applied a day to the deadline and believed that a miracle would happen and a laptop would come before the training starts. Yes! A miracle did happen🥺. I got an undergraduate scholarship from an oil company and I was paid in April 2022 which was the same month the training was to start. ( "Miracle nor dey tire Jesus" in Nigerian tone 😂).

I got a fairly used system in May 2022 from my scholarship money. I also developed interest in data science and started practising with my phone before the training started.

Data science wasn’t enlisted amongst the tracks in my training so I registered for the digital marketing track . I was excited about pushing sales, creating content and cashing out within a month of my training 😂. I choosed digital marketing because it seemed easy and I wanted a quick way to make money.

Two weeks into my training, I got tired of my track😂. Yes, I knew I’d be good with content creation and storytelling, but I realised I’d also want something more technical. I really wanted data science but someone advised me to check out web development since it’s about 0.1% related to data science 😅.

I’ve been on my Frontend development journey since then, and I’d be excited to share some of my experiences in my weekly write ups. I also realised that so far, I enjoy talking and writing. I try to bring out fun from what I do, so I tried teaching some people the basics of web development. I also enjoy teaching teenagers, making simple analogies and giving basic explanations about life.

I still have interesting dreams about saving the earth and doing amazing things, helping teenagers and young ones navigate their lives at an early age. I believe I’d pave a way through tech🙂.

Thanks for reading 💫💫 Please like, reshare and comment 🥺